Scrapbook Memories (poem)

Pictures of us laughing

Pictures of an embrace

Pictures of emotion overflowing

that my mind can not erase

A scrapbook that I can’t shut

The memories will not close

As I remember what was lost

What is now forever gone

How do I step into those pictures

to relive what was good

How does the lost become found

How do I get back to you

Each word was a brush stroke

in the paintings of our world

All the laughter and the tears

Framed by the hug of a boy and girl

I close my eyes to escape the pain

but what was is still there

Snapshots of a perfect friendship

that follow me everywhere

By:  Carrie Leigh

11.26.12

Use of writings without permission is prohibited.

One thought on “Scrapbook Memories (poem)”

Leave a Reply

