Who are you? (poem)

Who are you
with your searching gaze
Your longing eyes
send me into a daze
Who are you
with your gentle mouth
Sharing sweet words
that erase all question and doubt
Who are you
with your arms, warm and strong
Your embrace a safe haven
I want to lose myself in for so long
Who are you
to give such hope then rip it away
To turn around and run
when you made me want you to stay
Who are you
to control my heart
You came out of nowhere
and ripped it apart
Who are you
to make me cry
Your insecurities shut off your heart
after building me up to the sky
Who are you
to make me a victim of your past
to hurt me because you’ve been hurt
Drowning me in your toxic heart so fast
Who am I
to open my heart to you
to see something in your eyes
that made me open my heart too soon
Who am I
to hold out hope even still
knowing that you’ll hurt me
but hoping your heart I can fill
Who are you
to make me question who I am
Who are you
to make me question where my heart stands
Who are you
to make me question my heart
to question my instinct to open it
and give you a part
Who are you . . . 
 
By:  Carrie Leigh
11.16.13
2 thoughts on “Who are you? (poem)”

Leave a Reply

