A lesson in faith and patience

I remember when I was fourteen years old, the same age that my stepdaughter is right now, knowing that when I grew up I wanted to be on the radio.  I imagined all of the faithful and devoted listeners that I would have.  They would love me and want to be just as cool as me.

I had a dual-tape-deck stereo and would create my own radio shows.  There would be well thought out playlists, commercials, even “requests”.  My dad took a second job the summer I was fourteen as a dj at a bar.  He would practice with his turntables in the living room at home and I would sit there and watch him and imagine myself doing the same thing in a radio station studio one day.

Ten years later I walked into a radio station in Western Kentucky for my first day as a real actual dj.

That day was almost fourteen years ago.  It’s crazy how time has flown since the day I packed up all of my belongings, pulled up my roots, and replanted myself in a foreign town to embark on my new road in my dream career.  I love my career (thought not necessarily my job on some days).  I love the creativity that comes with my job, the goofy calls I get from listeners everyday, being able to bring a moment of happiness to a person just by playing their request.

The past several months though I’ve been feeling like there is more for me and my career than what is going on right now inside this radio station.  At first I thought it was just time to hang up the headphones and sign off for the last time.  I didn’t know where I wanted to go from there though.  I never planned for life after radio.  In the past couple of weeks my thinking has veered to a new path.  Maybe it’s not time to hang up the headphones.  Maybe it’s time to just leave this station.

I have a 90-mile round-trip commute for work everyday.  That’s an hour and a half that I am in the car driving to and from my radio station.  I prefer to not listen to my radio station because I can listen passively.  I critique.  I work . . . even in the car.  I have to turn my station off.  Instead I listen to my local K-Love station.

If you’ve never listened to K-Love it’s contemporary christian radio.  It’s commercial free, listener supported, and it spreads the word of God through its dj’s and music.  They don’t bill themselves as a radio station.  They call themselves a ministry.  They freely pray on air, share a verse of the day, and play calls from listeners about how God is working in their lives.  K-Love has pastors on staff to take calls and prayer requests from listeners.  A radio station with pastors on staff!  If a pastor walked into my radio station right now the whole building would probably burst into flames.

I just keep getting the feeling that it’s time for me to move on from where I am, and that I can do more with the talent God gave me.  I keep feeling like there is a direction that my career can take that can glorify God and that is what I want to do.  I want to go to work for K-Love.

The problem with that desire . . . K-Love is a nationally syndicated network.  They have positions posted on their website for openings at a few of their stations, but the closest of those positions is about five or six hours away, and none of those positions are on-air.  They are looking for engineers, promotions people, and people to work the phones.

Relocation with this career is almost always required.  A dj has to go where the job is.  That is how I ended up in Kentucky from St. Louis.  When I married my husband though I promised him that I would never ask him to move away from his daughter.  I believe that God is telling me that there is more for me to do with my career, that I need to be using my career to spread His word.  But how do I do that when the closest openings require relocating hundreds of miles away?  How do I do that when there are no openings in my aspect of my career?  I have faith that the Lord will lead me to where he wants me, but the waiting is making me more and more antsy to get out of the station that I’m at.

A dual lesson . . . in faith AND patience.  Faith that He will lead me to where my carer can best serve Him.  Patience that He will lead me there when He is ready for me to be there.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

