Eyes opened anew

image

I had a moment this evening that made me chuckle, look up, and say, “alright, God, I know that was you.”

Last night I was driving home from church and feeling a bit low because of the events of our first service at our newest campus.  You can read about it here.  I had been so hoping that at least one person would come.  Just one.  I couldn’t let go of the thought that somebody in that community is waiting for us to reach them.

That’s when my best friend popped into my head.

I didn’t think much about it at the time.  He’s my best friend.  He pops into my head often.  But this time was different.  It wasn’t a moment like, “oh, I can’t wait to tell him this funny story, ” or “I have got to share this picture on his Facebook page.”  He was just sitting there in my head just hanging out.  I got my phone out and sent him a text telling him how happy I am to see the way he is letting God work in his life.  The change in him over the last few months has been so amazing to watch, and it fills me with so much joy to know that I will get to spend eternity in heaven with my best friend and brother in Christ.  I can only imagine that this is how Brandi felt the Sunday I went to church with her and accepted Christ as my savior.

I got home last night, talked with my husband, wrote a new post, and went to bed.  Before going to sleep I asked God again to lead me to just that one person, to show me one person who wants and needs and is eager for Jesus in their life.  I just needed one person so that I could know my efforts weren’t in vain.

Today I was in my studio at work doing my on-air shift and my friend (the one I texted last night) walked into my studio.  His premise for coming in was to give me back a couple of commercial scripts that he had recorded for me.  But then he sat down and started to talk.

My friend had found a new christian bookstore and asked if I had ever heard of it.  It is not near where I live or work.  I generally shop at the christian bookstores near me.  He went on to tell me that I really needed to go check it out sometime because it is amazing.  Then he told me about his new bible.  It’s the first bible he’s ever had that has solely been his.  He’s got other bibles but they were his moms or hand-me-downs from other people.  He was so excited because this one is all his, has never been read or marked in by anyone else.  He told me all about it’s features as a study bible.  His girlfriend even had his name engraved on it.  I’ve seen him get this excited over comics before, but never over a bible.  This was a whole new side of my best friend that I was seeing.  I almost started crying.  I have been praying for him for months!

When he left my studio I just sat in my chair and took a moment to digest what had just happened.  When I met him 5 years ago either of us talking about God would have been preposterous.  2 1/2 years ago when the son of a mutual friend of ours passed away I had to beg him to come to the funeral service.  He was so lost, as lost as I was, and at the time neither of us knew the way home.  Honestly neither of us were ready to find our way home.

But then this year started.  What a year of change it has been.

I was sitting on my couch tonight after I got home from work, my best friend still on my mind.  Hearing him speak so excitedly about a bible and a christian bookstore, and to hear how he has gotten involved in his church . . . that’s when it hit me like a ton of bricks.  I asked God to show me just one person who was eager for God, who wanted and needed God in their life, just one person so that I could keep going with the new church campus.  God said, “That one person has been right in front of you all along, Carrie, but I will open your eyes and your heart so that you can see him anew.”  I asked God to show me one person.  God showed me my best friend.  What an amazing blessing.

Despite all that I have said here there really are no words for how I feel right now.  How do you adequately describe the feeling of knowing that someone you love will be right there with you in heaven?  How do you put into words the way it feels to know that someone who was just as lost as you turned around and gave their life to God?

There is really only one thing that can be done.  Give it to the one who did it all.  I praise God for everything.

I praise God.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

