Let go (poem)

I fought to make you part of my life
Then I fought to let you go
You were all I could see
You were all I wanted to know
Yours was the only music I wanted to hear
You were the only person
I wanted in my life so near
I wanted to give you all of me
I wanted to give you my heart
I wanted to be consumed by your eyes
Two lives made one in every part
How I wrapped my life around yours
How I jumped in so blind
How I risked everything
for what I can finally leave behind
My eyes are clear and open
My heart no longer in your hands
Once you were all I wanted
I slipped away like wind blowing sand
I don’t look back with anger
There is no hatred in my heart
You and I were simply what was
Something temporary meant to part
A year later I can finally let you go
Let the curtain come down on that act of my life
We were a chapter that reached its end
I can finally tell you goodbye
By: Carrie Leigh
11.04-05.14
Leave a Reply

