Recently (poem)

I saw your picture recently
And it meant nothing from the past
Absent was the stab of pain
That crushed my heart like glass
I had no urge to linger in the moment
To privately reminisce
I saw your picture and moved on
There’s nothing about who you are that I miss
I heard your name recently
It didn’t make my breath stop quick
Absent was the racing heart
That made me feel lovesick
I had no urge to linger in the moment
To bring up those forbidden days
I heard your name and moved on
There’s nothing that makes me want to return to those ways
I had a choice recently
A choice to fall backward or step ahead
Absent was the lying justification
That for too long clouded my head
I had no urge to revisit who I was
To relive what, months ago, died
I had the choice and turned my back
There’s nothing good on the other side

By:  Carrie Leigh
03.05.15

Leave a Reply

