Kicking myself in the pants

So, I just missed a perfect opportunity to invite someone to church.  GRRRR!!!!!

Today I wore my church t-shirt to work.  In big letters across the front it says, “No Perfect People Allowed,” because nobody is perfect no matter what they think.  We are all a giant messy ball of sin and imperfections.  Hence, “No Perfect People Allowed.”  Only the imperfect are welcome at my church.  So, basically EVERYBODY is welcome.  One of my co-workers saw my shirt and read the front of it and said, as he laughed, “No perfect people allowed?  Maybe I need to show up then.”  I, along with a couple of other co-workers who were also standing there, laughed and then went on our merry way to getting back to work.  As I walked away I realized, “I just missed the PERFECT opportunity to invite him to church!”  AGGGHHH!!!

A few weeks ago I was able to go see Casting Crowns in concert in my town.  It was quite possibly the best concert I have ever been to, and it was an unbelievable worship experience.  To see a venue that has hosted all manor of performances get turned into a house of worship, and to join in with a few thousand of my brothers and sisters in Christ as we raised our voices in praise and worship to the Lord . . . AMAZING!  I found a few friends in the audience that I expected to see there.  As I was leaving I saw someone I NEVER expected to see . . . the “no perfect people” co-worker.  He was standing right by the exit.  I had to do a double-take when I saw him.  And to be truthful, when he saw me he had to do the same thing.

So, today when he made the joke about my shirt I knew I had missed an opportunity to invite him to my church.  I don’t know the status of his church-going.  He may already have a home church that he is perfectly happy with.  But then again he may have no home church, or may be unhappy with his current church.  All I know is I was given an opportunity today that I totally missed.  I’m kicking myself in the pants.

O magnify the LORD with me, And let us exalt His name together.  (Psalms 34:3)

O come, let us sing for joy to the LORD, Let us shout joyfully to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving, Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.  (Psalms 95:1-2)

‘Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.  (Revelation 3:20)

I pray the Lord presents me with another opportunity.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

