Blissfully exhausted

It’s Monday.  That means the weekend is over and it’s back to work.  I’m sitting in my studio at the radio station right now with plenty of work to do, but it has to wait because I have to wait for my intern to get here this afternoon so that she has something to do.  That’s alright though, because honestly I have no motivation to do any real work right now anyway.  I am exhausted.  I could lay down right now and take a nap on the floor in the studio.  If I could get away with it I would absolutely prerecord my airshift and grab a few winks.  Would anybody actually notice?

I’m exhausted, but it’s a good kind of exhausted.  I had a wonderful weekend.

I am a geocacher, and left work a smidge early to head down to Paris Landing in Tennessee.  I had gone down there on a geocaching adventure back in February and managed to find 4 geocaches.  I was in the process of searching for cache number five when my phone died.  Many geocachers use a gps unit for caching, but I prefer to use the app on my phone.  I was just a few feet away from the cache when my phone shut itself.  No more battery power.  I had sucked it dry in my quests for caches.  So with a full charge on my phone I headed back down to Paris Landing.  It was not that I particularly wanted to find this cache.  It had become a vendetta.  I HAD to find this cache.  I would NOT let it get away.  I had to hike into nature (and I am not a nature girl at all); climb over, under, and around trees; climb gigantic hills; slosh through mud . . . all in a quest to sign a piece of paper inside an ammo can hidden in a tree stump.  It took me a while and a few wrong turns, but I found that stupid thing.  It was no longer the cache that got away.

I hiked back out, satisfied that I had conquered nature, and make the hour-and-a-half long drive home.

Saturday, after sleeping blissfully late, I headed out on another geocaching adventure with the children of a friend of mine.  We found 4 caches, but had even more laughs.  We acted silly, took goofy pictures, and just a fun time together.  We made memories that no amount of money can ever buy.

Yesterday was my favorite day of every week . . . Sunday . . . church day.  Sunday used to mean nothing more to me than a day to sit on the couch and do nothing except watch television.  But in the past year Sunday has become the day I look forward to more than any other day of the week.  To spend time with my church family raising our voices in praise and worship to God, and delving into the Word . . . I never knew what was missing from my life until I found it at church.

Yesterday the spirit was moving through the congregation in a big way.  It was such a beautiful sound to hear all those voices raised together in song.  We had a wonderful sermon from one of our fellow church members that recently surrendered to preach, and he did such a good job.  During the invitation several people made the decision to make their fresh start with God, and that has been happening more and more the last several weeks.  Hearing that people are turning to God, and then seeing them baptized never gets old.  It moves me to joyous tears every single time.

Last night our church Lifegroup (smaller groups within the church) met.  We had a wonderful meal and talked and laughed until our bellies ached.  We shared conversation about that mornings message, and continued to grow in our relationship with Christ, and with each other.  Again I say, I never knew what was missing from my life until I found it in Christ.

It was a busy weekend that left me exhausted today, but it’s a wonderful exhaustion that I wouldn’t trade for the world.  My heart is full and there is a smile on my face.  There is no better way to start a week.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

