I Am

I-AM

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'”  (Exodus 3:14, NIV)  (courtesy of biblehub.com)

I recently started a women’s bible study at church based on “Unglued” by Lysa TerKeurst.  Last night the woman leading the group said something that stuck with me . . .

Her:  “What is God’s name?”

Us:  “I Am.”

Her:  “So when you look in the mirror and say, ‘I am ugly.  I am stupid.  I am not good enough.  I am weak.  I am inadequate,’ are you not taking the Lord’s name in vain?  If God is I Am then by calling yourself ugly, stupid, not good enough, weak, inadequate, or any other negative thing you say or think about yourself, you are saying the same thing to God.”

Us:  **stunned silence**

God created us in His image, but too often women look in the mirror and what we see makes us sad, disappoints us.  It’s not just what we see physically that makes us say awful things to ourselves.  It’s the way we see our life, our performance at work or in social situations, the way we raise our children . . . everything.  We look in the mirror and see someone who is just flat out not good enough.  We beat ourselves up each and every single day.  We convince ourselves that we are not the strong, beautiful, WORTHY child of God that he created us to be.  He is I Am, but we tell ourselves that we are Not.

As very small girls we knew we were cute.  We were confident.  We rocked our frilly dresses and sparkly sandals, our pigtails waving the breeze as we rode our bike or played in the dirt.  We knew what we wanted at that age and we had no doubt in our confidence.  As little girls we were fearless.  What happened?

As teenagers we started comparing ourselves to the other girls.  We started telling ourselves that we aren’t as pretty as the other girls, that we aren’t good enough to go out with the popular boy, that we aren’t as smart as the other kids.  We said that to ourselves so much that we started to believe it.  It became the gospel truth to us, and our confidence and self-image was shattered.

Now as grown women we are stuck in the juxtaposition of insecure confidence.  We put on a mask of confidence for everyone else to see.  We say all the right words to make them think we are perfectly happy.  But inside we are still looking in that mirror telling ourselves that we are NOT good enough.

But God is I Am . . . I say again that we were created in His image.

Is God weak?  Is God inadequate?  Is God stupid or ugly?

No.

Then why are we?

Because we forget that God is in us.  We convince ourselves that everything in our life is not what it is supposed to be.  We look in the mirror and expect to see the image that we want to have of ourselves, but we forget that what we are right now is exactly what God wants us to be.  We are not supposed to be perfect.  Only He is perfect.  If we were perfect them we wouldn’t need Him.  When we begin to see ourselves as God sees us then we’ll no longer say, “I am ugly, I am stupid, I am inadequate.”  When we begin to see ourselves as God see us then we will look at ourselves and say, “I am a child of God, created in His image.  I am blessed, redeemed, and worthy.”

God’s name is I Am.  We are created in His image.  He is strong, loving, beautiful, faithful . . . and so are we.

Until next time . . .

2 thoughts on “I Am”

Leave a Reply

