I can’t delete me

Recently there was a huge misunderstanding within my church.  A few people said somethings (myself included) about the leadership of the church.  I sided with some people without getting the entire story.  I wrote a post about the event while still in the heat of the moment, but the very next day was convicted by an unlikely person that maybe I needed to hear the other side of the story before taking any further action.

I met with the pastor of my church and heard the rest of the story.  Needless to say, I did not leave my church after all.  I apologized to my pastor, his wife, the leadership team, and many others that I hurt directly or indirectly.

Since then it has been suggested to me by a friend that I remove the offending post.  I have thought on it for several days and am opting to leave it right where it is.  It will serve as a physical reminder to me to always get the other side of the story.  Besides, I am not perfect.  Nobody is.  I am a collection of all of my experiences . . . good ones, bad ones, stupid ones, and not-so-stupid ones.  To remove that post would be to delete a small part of what has made me who I am.  I can’t delete any other experience, so why would I delete that one poorly thought out post?

I have learned from the experience, and am working to apply its lesson to my life even now.  That is what we do.  We learn from everything.

Until next time . . .

2 thoughts on “I can’t delete me”

  1. Actually, no. The parts to which I referred were the ones that stated:
    -“I have allowed that church to come in the middle of my friendship with Brandi, because I allowed myself to let the pastor influence my opinion of her negatively.”
    -“Brandi, I am sorry that I allowed someone else to make me see you the way he wanted me to see you. I’m sorry that I put him in the middle of our friendship. I’m sorry that it took me a year to see it.”

    If the rest of your post was a misunderstanding, then I’d say that part was, too. I’m not concerned with your pastor’s opinion. You seem to have misunderstood the reasons I left that church, and that’s ok, because it’s really not open to anyone else’s approval. I’m right where God wants me to be, and that’s what matters.

    What church you attend, whose approval you seek, etc are not really my concern. I followed the ushering of the Holy Spirit when I came to the studio and spoke to you about Jesus. Then I got my calling to a new season. When the next calling comes, I pray I’ll obediently follow that one, too.

    Anyone else’s opinions regarding what I do with my spiritual life is their own prerogative. I’d say any time spent discussing my decisions on such a level is a whole lot of time other folks could be spending talking to the lost about Jesus. He is a much more worthy subject.

    Love ya as much today as I ever did.

    1. This particular post was merely a thoughtful consideration of your suggestion that I should, “probably take this down, huh?” That comment was in reference to my post, “The end is just the beginning.” But aside from the sentence, “Since then it has been suggested to me by a friend that I remove the offending post,” this particular post was not about you at all, so your comment leaves me very confused as to what you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

