30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 4 – 10 Interesting Facts About Yourself

image

Who am I?
What am I?
Where am I?
There are many things that going into making a person who they are.  They are made of their experiences from the past and their hopes of the future shaping who they are right now like a precious and beautiful piece of art.  How can all of those thing that make a person be narrowed down into simple little list like things to pick up at the grocery store?  Are there certain attributes that are more important or interesting than others?  What makes me the me that I am right now?
And as such is the topic of today’s writing challenge.

Day 4 – 10 Interesting Things About Yourself

01.  Though I make my living and spend the better part of my work day in a studio talking on the radio, I have terrible stage fright.  I am incapable of getting up in front of a group of people and speaking.  To try to do so renders me a stuttering inept mess.  Yet, despite this, I have managed to find a home singing in the praise band at my church.

02.  No matter how much I love my husband and son, there are times when I miss being single and completely independent.

03.  I hate the smell and taste of coffee.  It is quite possibly the most disgusting smell on earth.  And while my husband and son can drink coffee by the bucket, I get my caffeine fix from Dr. Pepper.

04.  I didn’t know how to cook anything that didn’t come from a box until I got married.  My husband loves to watch Food Network, and so I spent a lot of time watching it with him.  And that is how I learned to cook.  Alton Brown and Good Eats was a great (and very entertaining) teacher.

05.  When I was 15 years old I was diagnosed with Juvenile Myoclonic Epilepsy.  There was no family history, and no cause for the Epilepsy.  I was just one of those rare cases of the brain malfunctioning for no reason at all.  Meds controlled the seizures, and I eventually outgrew the epilepsy.  My particular type of epilepsy is prevailingly in teenage girls, and disappears after puberty.

06.

image

This is one of the greatest moments in cinematic history.  After every break up with a guy that I still longed for I always wished I could be Diane Court and the guy would be Lloyd Doubler standing outside my bedroom window while playing Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes” to win me back.

07.  I don’t wear any kind of lipstick or lip gloss now because of the years I spent in band while in school.  I played clarinet and saxophone, and having anything on my lips would ruin my reed.  So my lips always went bare.  It’s a habit I’ve never been able to break.

08.  I do not have, and refuse to get, internet at my house.  I am a workaholic, and if I have internet access then I will spend my time at home doing work instead of leaving it at the radio station.

09.  I have literally read the cover off of my paperback copy of “Phantom” by Susan Kay.  I eventually had to buy it in hardback.

10.  My name was Colleen until I was born.  As soon as my mom gave birth to me and saw me she decided that I was not a Colleen after all.

And now, with these ten pieces of information, you know me without actually knowing me at all.  What makes you the you you are right now?

Until next time . . .

4 thoughts on “30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 4 – 10 Interesting Facts About Yourself”

  1. Love your bravery that you mentioned the epilepsy! I’m an adult living with it, and it does my heart good every time I hear of a child outgrowing it or the seizures being able to be controlled with meds. Good for you!

    1. I was ashamed of my epilepsy for a long time after I got diagnosed. It took 2 separate instances of seizures in the shower before I was diagnosed. My father is the one who found me seizing in the shower the 2nd time and called the ambulance. He was able to tell the dr’s what was happening which led to a pretty swift diagnosis. After the diagnosis I was embarrassed about the new restrictions on my life to prevent further seizures. My dad made fun of me, his only way of coping with something that he was scared of and didn’t understand. It took me a long time to accept the new norm of my life. I had a wonderful pediatric neurologist. And the best part of getting an EEG was getting out of school early to go to the doctor. I had a few close calls. The scariest was when I had a seizure at the top of a flight of stairs and fell down them and landed on a concrete floor. If it would have happened a few minutes later I would have been driving in my truck. I haven’t had a seizure in about 15 years, but now I am starting to notice some of the signs in my son that were precursors to my diagnosis. Time to have a preventative talk with his doctor.

      1. Oh my GOODNESS, yes – PLEASE talk to your doctor about your son! And thank you for this incredible response. If you ever have time, pop on over to my blog -I’d really appreciate any advice an expert like you could give. 🙂

Leave a Reply

