30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 5 – A Place You Would Live, But Have Never Visited

image

Boise, Idaho.
Fargo, North Dakota
Juneau, Alaska
Honolulu, Hawaii
Livermore, Colorado
Providence, Rhode Island

Those are all places I have never visited.  Some of them I would like to visit someday.  Others, well let’s just say that I won’t be planning that road trip anytime soon.  I do love road trips.  I love exploring, finding out about the local history, and stopping at all the tourist traps along the way.  This is a great big country with so much regional flavor and diversity that being in the American South is like being in a completely different county from the American New England area.  Head west and you have entered yet another completely different country.  Yet the 48 contiguous states are connected by mountains, rivers, prairies, and deserts.  It is just one big opportunity for endless exploration.
Today’s writing challenge topic is (purposely, I’m assuming) a bit vague to keep the writer from putting any walls up to possibility, and in honor of that vagueness, I will say right now . . . Sydney, Australia.  But I think I will keep it a bit more local and stay inside the United States for today’s 30 Day Writing Challenge topic.

Day 5 – A Place You Would Like To Live, But Have Never Visited

I love to travel.  I adore road trips.  I enjoy stopping along the way to take my picture at the “Welcome to **state**” sign.  I like meeting the local people, and searching out the non-chain restaurants that are owned and operated by someone in that community.  I love to explore and see what is beyond the confines of my everyday world in Paducah, Kentucky. 
By simply traveling 100-ish miles I could be in Clarksville, Tennessee or Mount Vernon, Illinois.  200 miles could take me to Memphis, Tennessee or St. Louis, Missouri.  All I need is a tank of gas, an open road, and the opportunity to just get away for a day or forever.
I’m supposed to pick just one place in which I would to like to live that I have never visited, but when presented with the endless possibilities of this topic, how could I pick just one location?
My ultimate goal in life is to become a professional tourist.  I want to sell all my belongings, buy an r-v to live in, and spend the rest of my days exploring towns along the highways and byways of this beautiful and culturally diverse land called the United States of America.  I want to hang my hat in quiet little sleepy towns, and share meals with locals who know the history of their community.  I want to get lost in the towns that tourism has let fall to the wayside and discover what keeps them going.  I want to attend community fairs and town celebrations.  I want to meet people from one coast to the other and get to know the mom-and-pop side of America that isn’t in a travel brochure.  I want to ask for directions from a person sitting in a lawn chair on the courthouse steps.  I want to see local landmarks that were recommended by a diner waitress that calls me “Hun” and welcomes me to her town.
I want to see winter in the mountains and fall in New England.  I want to see the sunset from the beach, and the sunrise in the woods.  I want to live in a perpetual state of discovery of local landmarks, parks, and kitschy roadside attractions.  I want to go where the GPS won’t find me.
There is so much of this country I haven’t seen, and the best way to get to know it is to get in the car and go.
This topic wants me to pick one specific place that I would want to live that I have never visited, but how can I pick just one location when I want to see them all.  So if I must pick one place that I would like to live that I have never visited then I pick the United States of America.  Yes, I already live here, but I have not visited all of the places that make this country wonderful.  But I will, someday.
Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

