30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 10 – A Fruit You Dislike and Why

image

Banana, apples, grapes (red and green), strawberries, kiwi, oranges, pineapple, cantaloupe, peaches.  No this is not my grocery list.  This is a list of fruit that I love.  I’m sure I missed some, but you get the point.  Yes, I love a tasty, chocolatey candy bar, but there is something delectable about the natural and sweet goodness of natures own candy . . . fruit.  Yum!
And that brings us to the topic of today’s writing challenge . . .

Day 10:  A fruit you dislike and why

There are very few foods that I don’t like.  I am a self-professed glutton.  I love food.  I have an insatiable sweet tooth.  And, like I already said, fruit is nature’s own candy. But there is one fruit that to say I dislike it would not do my feelings adequate justice.  I don’t just dislike this fruit.  I loathe it intensely.
First off it’s peel is deceiving.  It’s textured and bright orange, which can lead a potential eater to think that it is, in fact, a big orange.  Then when you cut it open it’s center is juicy and inviting except for the fact that it’s bright pink.  And not a cutesy Barbie pink.  It’s a day-glo, neon, could-only-be-created-by-a-nuclear-accident pink.  What freak accident happened with fruit DNA over the millennia to make this horrendous shade of pink happen?  (The same goes for watermelon, an equally disgusting fruit.)
It easily peels apart into nice little sections like an Orange, and you pop a morsel into your mouth expecting the sweetness to roll and dance delicately across your taste buds and down your throat like a colorful ballet.  But no!  What you get instead is a horribly puckered mouth perfect for teenage Instagram duck-faced selfies because again this fruit has deceived you worse than any lying, cheating ex ever could have.  Instead of sweetness, you get a noxious tart nightmare for your taste buds that make Sour Patch Kids look like amateurs.
You spit out the offending section of lying fruit, but the taste lingers and nothing can make it go away.  It’s embedded in every single one of your taste buds like disgusting citrus cement.  You vow to never, ever eat another piece of that bastard fruit ever again.
Grapefruit, you are the asshole of the fruit world.
Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

