30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 11 – Your Current Relationship Status

image

Irony is what today’s post is built around.  You see, “day 11” of my 30 day writing challenge was yesterday, but I never got around to writing it.  I had plenty of time to write it, but alas wouldn’t take the time  to actually log in to WordPress and tap out the letters to form this post.  Sounds like the first few years that I knew the man that would become my husband.
I am Rob’s wife.  We celebrated our 11th anniversary on October 29th, but I have known him for almost 15 years.

Day 11 – Discuss your current relationship status

I moved to Paducah, Kentucky on January 13, 2001 to take a job with Withers Broadcasting.  A few months later a man started calling to make requests.  He became one of my regular callers.  In October of 2001 I was at a motorcycle shop doing a live broadcast for the station.  About halfway through the broadcast a man walked up to me.  He was tall.  He was wearing black jeans, a black shirt, black boots, and a black overcoat.  He was a little scary looking, except for one thing . . . the sleeping baby girl on his shoulder, his daughter.  I knew who he was immediately.  He didn’t need to introduce himself.
For the next few years this man spent his time continuing to call me for requests, show up to my live broadcasts, and bring me gifts to the radio station.  The joke with my coworkers was that this man had become my stalker.  He would periodically ask me out and I would always find an excuse to blow him off.
In the summer of 2003 I starting dating a man, and by the fall of that year he and I were living together.  It was a bad relationship.  He and I never really liked each other.  It was a relationship of convenience.  I One day during the summer of 2004 I came home from work to find that the man was packing his belongs and moving out.  I was not upset by this sudden turn in events.  Again I say that he and I never really did like each other.
A few days later, while as work, I went through the prize winner sheets.  I was looking for information for one recent winner.  I found his name and his phone number, and made the call.  After almost 3 years of this man calling me at the station, showing up to all of my life broadcasts, and asking me out, I called him and asked him out.
A few nights later we went out for dinner.  The next night he went out to a bar with me and a bunch of friends.  We got engaged that night.  Yes, you read that correctly.  We got engaged on our 2nd date.
On October 29, 2004, we went down to the McCracken County courthouse and were married by Judge Clymer.  That day was also my sister’s 20th birthday.
On January 8, 2005 (Elvis Presley’s birthday), we had a wedding for our family and friends.  The dress, the tuxedo, cake, everything.  We went to Memphis, Tennessee for our honeymoon.
We found out in late March of 2005 that I was pregnant.
Our marriage has not always been easy.  There have been plenty of hills and valleys.  There have been many moments where I have been ready to throw in the towel and walk away.  But two days we celebrated our 11th anniversary, and I look forward to many more years together.
I may be a day late in writing this post for the 30 day writing challenge, and I may have been 3 years behind in seeing someone who was right in front of may face.  But here I sit, knowing that I am in love with my friend.  I am in love with a man who is good, devoted, strong, and kind.  I know that there are times of laughter and fights ahead, but I look forward to those days with my husband.

image

image

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

