30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 14 – Your Life In 7 Years

wpid-fb_img_1445386704020.jpg

When you were a kid what did you want to be when you grew up?  Did you want to be a doctor, teacher, police officer, firefighter, or in the military?

What about when you were a teenager?  What grand career did you imagine for yourself?  Were you picturing your life would be like?  Married?  Children?  Lots of friends?

Now, as an adult, how does your life measure up to what you imagined it would be?  Are you dissatisfied with the differences between what you imagined and what is reality?  Are you happy that things didn’t pan out the way you imagined they would?

Life never really seems to work out the way we plan.  I once heard someone say, “If you want to make God laugh then tell Him your plans.”

I stopped imagining my future a long time ago.  But the topic of today’s writing challenge wants me to try to look ahead.  I don’t know what will happen, but I know what I would like to see in my life.

Day 14 – Your life in 7 years

I don’t know where my life will be in 7 years.  I know only that, if I am still alive, I will be 45 years old.  I will have just celebrated 18 years of marriage to my husband, and I will be the mother of a 16-year-old boy.  If I’m not still alive here on Earth then I will have gone on to eternal life with Jesus Christ in Heaven.

7 years from now I hope I am not still being Heather McRibbits on-air my radio station.  I hope by then that I will have found a better way to use my career to serve God.  I hope that my son will have given himself to Christ.  I hope that he will be growing into a strong and independent young man, and reaching for dreams of his own.  I hope that in 7 years I will have written something that hit someone to their core and changed their life.  I hope to not have a large circle of friends, but to still have that small core of friends I can always lean on and laugh with.  I hope that in 7 years I am where God wants me, and that I am living out His plan for my life.

I can’t say “this is what I will be doing with my life, and this is where I will be living, and this is what I will not be doing.”  Nobody knows what tomorrow holds.  Right now I have a life of stability, happiness, a good marriage, a healthy son, and a job that pays the bills.  Tomorrow that could all change.  I can say with certainty only that I know I will not be going out to eat lunch today.  Beyond that, nothing can be predicted.  Only God knows what he has planned for our lives.  All I can do is follow where he leads me, and in 7 years I hope that is what I am doing.

Until next time . . .

One thought on “30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 14 – Your Life In 7 Years”

Leave a Reply

