30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 18 – Your Favorite Color and Why

wpid-fb_img_1445386704020.jpgRoy G. Biv.  That’s an acronym all children are taught to remember all the colors of the rainbow.  Red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet.

Most people, from that prismatic acronym, have one color that they favor over all the others.  Some like the power of red, the happiness of yellow, the calm of blue, and the earthiness of green.  Today’s writing challenge topic is royally, elegantly, boldly, happily mine.

Day 18:  Your favorite color and why

Purple:  a mix of red and blue.  A dye color that used to be made from plants.  The plant that the color came from was rare, and thus the dye was expensive.  So expensive, in fact, that only the very rich could afford garments that had been dyed purple.  Generally, the only people who could afford those garments were royalty, hence the name “royal purple.”

Eventually a man, who was working on creating a completely unrelated chemical compound, dissolved some chemicals in water.  The water spilled.  He used an old rag to wipe up the spill and discovered that the rag had been colored purple by the chemical compound he had spilled.  He washed the rag, but the stain remained.  He had inadvertantly created a synthetic purple dye.  Suddenly anyone could wear purple.  It was no longer a color reserved only for royalty.  People went crazy for it, and bought purple fabric faster than it could be dyed.

purple glitterPurple is soothing for me.  It calms me and makes me feel comfortable.  Purple makes me feel strong and bold.  It makes me feel like I stand out in a world of khaki and safe, muted “professional” colors.

purple smileyPurple is just such a happy and fun color.

purple flowerThis purple flower the picture that I use for my desktop wallpaper at work.

I wear purple clothes and jewelry.  My glasses are purple, as is my nose ring.  My stapler and tape dispenser at work are purple.  I surround myself with my favorite color like a warm and comforting blanket.

There is even a wonderfully funny poem written as an ode to purple by Jenny Joseph called “Warning.”

i shall wear purple

And just like the woman in the poem, “When I am old, I shall wear . . . “

purple-communications-logo

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

