30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 24 – Something You Miss

image

Things in our life come and go.  Ultimately everything in life is temporary, no matter the length of time it spends in your life.  Even physical life itself here on Earth is temporary.  It is only when a person who has found salvation through Jesus Christ gets to Heaven that they will find eternal and permanent life.
With as easily as everything passes through the fingers of time in our life we tend to occasionally look back over the years and reminisce.  We think about what is no longer in our life.  Some of those things make us happy that they are gone.  Some things we would be happy if they were back in our life.
It is just that which today’s writing challenge is about.

Day 24 – Something you miss

I miss several things in my life.  In my 38 (almost 39) years many things have come and gone, some of which I would love to have back.
1.  My grandmother, Mary – She died of lung cancer in 2003.  I never got the chance to tell her goodbye before she passed away.  It took me a very long to get over that.  She never met my husband, stepdaughter, or son.  She never got to see me finally come to Christ.  She was an amazing, smart, strong, beautiful woman, and I can not wait to see her in Heaven when my time comes.
2.  The simplicity of childhood – coloring, juice boxes, riding bikes around the neighborhood with your friend from across the street, cartoons, the only responsibilities you had were your daily chores, waking up wondering what the day would bring, and then being tucked in at night by your mom, a life with nothing but possibility and dreams in front of you, never having experienced a broken heart.
3.  My clarinet – I started playing when I was 9 years old in the 4th grade.  My mom rented and instrument for me so that I could join the school band.  My family never had extra money, so after a couple of months the clarinet had to go back to the store.  My mom just could afford to rent it any longer.  She was having to choose between clarinet rental or paying utilities.  When I told my band teacher he lent me a school instrument.  I used that old, ugly clarinet until I finished my time in elementary school at the end of 6th grade.  My dad bought me a clarinet to use for the remainder of my band career, which lasted until I was 22 years old.  That clarinet saw me through varsity band, concert band, marching band, jazz band, pep band, and pit orchestra.  I loved to play that clarinet.
4.  My first car, a 1986 Toyota Pickup truck – Her name was Baby (I name all of my vehicles).  I always wanted a Toyota pickup truck, and my dad bought one when I was in high school.  When I got my drivers license at 17 years old my dad gave me his truck.  I loved that truck.  She was blue, with tri-tone silver stripes.  She was made when a/c was still an option, and her original owner opted to not get it.  She had big aftermarket wheels and tires.  Her stereo was an old-school turn-dial tuner with no even a cassette player.  She broke down a lot.  She leaked oil, which is what finally did her in.  I was bad about not checking her oil level.  Eventually all of her oil leaked out and the engine locked up.  I couldn’t afford a new motor.  In June, 1999, after 186,000 miles my Baby went to the junk yard.  I had my first car accident in that truck.  I got my first ticket in that truck.  I made out with a boy for the first time in that truck.  I discovered the freedom of the open road in that truck.  I loved her.  Every once in a while I see old Toyota Pickup’s that look almost exactly like my truck, and I smile.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

