30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 30 – Something You Are Excited For

image

There are lots of things to get excited about.  When you were a kid you got excited about your birthday and Christmas.  When you were a teenager you got excited about school dances and first dates.  As an adult you got excited about your wedding day, the birth of a child, landing your dream job, and buying your first home.
Things to get excited about are around us all the time.  Sometimes they slap us right in the face, like a surprise pay raise.  Sometimes they are an event down the road, like a planned vacation.
We get excited over things we care about.  And today I am very excited about something.

Day 30 – Something you are excited for

My dear friend, Brian, is getting baptized in a little over a week.  He told me yesterday afternoon, and the joy of his news brought me to tears, because he is no longer just my close friend.  Now Brian is my bother in Christ.
Knowing that when God calls us to Heaven our friendship will continue, knowing that my friend recognized that he had a hole in his life that only God can fill, knowing that through God’s amazing grace my friend is no longer lost in Satan’s grip . . . how could I not be excited?
Yesterday, after he told me the news, I was practically bouncing off the walls.  I made frantic calls to my husband, and to my friend, Jenny.  I could barely get the words out to them because I just wanted to scream in praise and joy to our Almighty God.  Even now I just want to jump up and down, clap, sing, laugh, and shout praises of thanks to the One who saved my soul, and has saved the soul of my friend and brother.
My God is mighty to save!
Hallelujah!
Until next time . . .

One thought on “30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 30 – Something You Are Excited For”

Leave a Reply

