If you don’t know the answer then you already know the answer.

That title makes no sense, does it?  It will though.  I promise.

Yesterday morning the message at church really got me thinking.  When I get up to heaven and stand before God, what am I going to have to answer for from my life?  Who has he put in my life to share the word with that I have ignored or just blown off?  Who has he put in my path that needed to experience the love of Christ, and didn’t?  What did he tell me that I ignored?  When did I think my way was better than his?  When did I use “I” instead of “God”?

Many years ago, before I found a relationship with Christ, some co-workers and I were talking.  This was during the height of popularity of the Left Behind series of books.  One person asked if each of knew where we would go if we died at that very moment.  I didn’t know.  I thought that going to heaven was about being a good person, and doing good things.  I thought there was no way to know ahead of time where you would end up until you actually discovered yourself in either Heaven or Hell.  That’s when another coworker said, “if you don’t know where you’re going then that’s a pretty good indicator of where you aren’t going.”  Of all the different things I have heard in my 40 years of life, that one sentence sticks out about almost everything.

Today there is no question in my mind where I will go when I die, but that one sentence that was spoken almost 15 years ago still sticks with me.  It can be applied to so much of my walk with Christ.  Am I being the example of Christ to others that I should be?  Am I sharing God’s word the way he wants me to?  Am I studying the word enough?  Am I making time for God in each day?  If I don’t know the answer to those questions then the question is already answered.

I am reflective today because of a message at church yesterday.  It was that kind of message that leaves you thinking, “He may not have said my name, but he was preaching directly to me!”  What notes has God written down under my name?  What is he going to make me answer for before he lets me pass through the gates of the eternal kingdom?

2016 has brought great change into my life.  A friendship that I thought would never end, did.  A dream to return to school that I thought would never actually happen, did.  My workplace was turned upside down for the second year in a row, but we have come out stronger on the other side.  Anger and resentment that I thought would be a constant fact of the rest of my life has started letting go of its hold.  And through it all was the constant presence of God.  I have not always turned to him when I should.  I have repeatedly tried to take matters into my own hands, and was always reminded of what a dumb idea that was.

So, I could say that 2017 will be different.  I could make a resolution to do better next year . . . to keep my eyes and ears open to people and situation that God is bringing into my life.  But tomorrow is never guaranteed.  What if God brings someone into my life today?  I have spent too much of this year focusing on me, me, me.  The message at church yesterday served to let me know that today is the day to finally turn my focus away from myself.  The world is not all about me.  My job is not to focus on what makes me happy.  My job is to show the love of Christ to those around me.

Matthew West
“Do Something”

I woke up this morning
Saw a world full of trouble now
Thought, how’d we ever get so far down
How’s it ever gonna turn around
So I turned my eyes to Heaven
I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of
People living in poverty
Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you” If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something I’m so tired of talking
About how we are God’s hands and feet
But it’s easier to say than to be
Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves
It’s alright, “somebody else will do something”
Well, I don’t know about you
But I’m sick and tired of life with no desire
I don’t want a flame, I want a fire
I wanna be the one who stands up and says,
“I’m gonna do something” If not us, then who
If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something
We are the salt of the earth

We are a city on a hill (shine shine, shine shine)
But we’re never gonna change the world
By standing still
No we won’t stand still
No we won’t stand still
No we won’t stand still
If not us, then who

If not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
If not now, then when
Will we see an end
To all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something [x3]
(lyrics courtesy of azlyrics.com)

So, how would you answer God’s questions if you stood before him right now?  As long as you are breathing then there is still time to change your answer.  After all, if you don’t know the answer then you already know the answer.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

