365 Writing Prompts, by thinkingwritten.com – Day 003 – The Vessel

The complete list of 365 writing prompts can be found at thinkwritten.com

Traveling is one of my favorite things to do.  To get out and explore this great big and all of its tiny hidden corners.  To visit a small town and eat where the locals eat, shop where the locals shop, do what the locals do.  To stay away from the bland and sanitary tourist traps, and instead to find the true personality of a location.  There is a great big world outside of my little corner of western Kentucky.  There are adventures to be had.

That brings us to the topic of day three of the 365 writing prompts.  Today I am to write about “The vessel.”  The directions for this writing prompt are as such:  “Write about a ship or other vehicle that can take you somewhere different from where you are now.”

Right now I am not near water, so a boat is out of the picture.

Right now I am in a small town, so planes are also out of the picture.

Right now the most easily accessible modes of transportation would be a car, or good ole Amtrak.  I am not averse to either option.  I love land travel.

Some of my greatest memories have been in a car.  My husband and I took our son to North Platte, Nebraska about a year-and-a-half ago for a vacation.  Don’t laugh at the location.  It was a lovely little town that is sustained by the world’s largest freight rail yard and the visitor’s center associated with it.  Union Pacific owns Bailey Yard and the Golden Spike Tower visitor’s center.  Thousands of railfans visit Bailey yard every year just to see the 8-mile-long freight yard that operates 24-hours-a-day.  My husband and son are both HUGE railfans.  So we made the 900 mile roadtrip to Bailey Yard in my husband’s Kia Optima.

bailey panarama

golden spike tower

We laughed.  We sang.  We got lost.  We bought too many souvenirs.  We ate snacks from rest stop vending machines and seedy gas stations.  We explored the unfamiliar.  We bonded as a family.  All of that happened withing the 4 doors of the brick red Kia Optima.

museum

We depended on it to get us safely to our destination, but it did more than that.  It created a cocoon around my little family that forced us to focus on each other.  It took us across long distances with little to no cell phone service.  We actually had to turn our attention away from Facebook and YouTube and interact with each other.  We played road games and looked for odd and interesting landmarks . . . my favorite was a huge covered wagon that turned out to be a golf store.

covered wagon

We forever changed our outlook on corn after driving across Northern Missouri and Nebraska and seeing corn EVERYWHERE.  We were modern day explorers setting out across the country and into the unknown, and the car was our covered wagon.  It was our space shuttle into the the cosmos.  It was our ship across unknown waters.

The car did not make the memories, but it was the vessel as the memories were made.

nebraska sunset

Until next time . . .

5 thoughts on “365 Writing Prompts, by thinkingwritten.com – Day 003 – The Vessel”

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

Leave a Reply

