365 Writing Prompts, by thinkingwritten.com – Day 007 – The Rocket Ship

The complete list of 365 writing prompts can be found at thinkwritten.com

“Space . . . the final frontier . . . ”  Wasn’t that from the original Star Trek series?  Though the kitchy, low-budget series was entertaining, I was always a bigger fan of Captain Piccard and his crew.  The writing prompt I am tackling today is not neccessarily about Kirk or Piccard.  But it does tackle the final frontier.  Today’s writing prompt . . . The Rocket-ship: Write about a rocket-ship on it’s way to the moon or a distant galaxy far, far, away.

I am on day number two of trying to write this post . . . I think pulling teeth would have been a lot easier and considerably less painful.  Some topics are just like that.

Now when I think of shows like Star Trek I don’t wonder what it would be like to be adventuring through space.  I think about what it would be like to be trapped for weeks, months, or ever years, on a ship in space.  No possibility of getting off the ship.  No escape.  No taking a walk around the block for a change of scenery.  No running through a drive-thru for a milkshake and cheeseburger.

That is the route that this particular writing prompt entry will take.  I will be honest and say that I have been avoiding this particular writing prompt, because science-fiction is not a subject of interest to me.  I only ever watched Star Trek because somebody else was already watching it.  So this may not be one of my stronger posts.  Allow me to apologize for that ahead of time.

When I think of space I think of all the things I would like to see.  My rocket would be one similar to Marvin the Martian’s rocket.

Marvin the Martian Rocket

Except my rocket would be purple with chrome trim, and a big yellow smiley face on the side.

I would travel through space and check out stars, black holes, Mars (of course), Pluto, and I would take selfies on the moon as I make “snow” angels in the dirt.  I take a space stroll on Venus, try to land on a meteor.  I would do a fly-by of the International Space Station and moon them.  I would listen for sounds that might hint at life in other galaxies.  I would chronicle my dad-to-day activities via video so that future generations could watch with amusement my descent into space madness.  I would turn off any form of directional system and purposely get lost.  After all, you can’t find anything if you already know where you are.  You have to get lost to find your way.  I would try to find the stars that make up my favorite constellation . . .

orion

I would recreate my favorite episode of Ren and Stimpy . . .

Basically, I would do the same things in space that I do here on Earth.  Zero-gravity would just make those activities a lot more entertaining.

Here is a sneak peak at the topic for day 008:  Dream-catcher: Write something inspired by a recent dream you had.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

