Five More Minutes

Scotty McCreery – Five More Minute
(lyrics courtesy of azlyrics.com)

Eight years old a couple cane poles sitting down by the creek
Our lines in the water watching those bobbers seeing that red sun sink
Mama’s on the porch yelling supper’s hot, y’all come and get it
We yelled five more minutes.
At sixteen it was twelve o three standing at her front door
Katie’s dad said midnight, but we needed just a little more
Yellow light flipping on and off, interrupting that goodnight kissing,
We wanted five more minutes
Time rolls by the clock don’t stop
I wish I had a few more drops
Of the good stuff, the good times
Oh but they just keep on flying
Right on by like it ain’t nothing
Wish I had me a pause button
Moments like those Lord knows I’d hit it
And give myself five more minutes
At eighteen turned my helmet in and walked to the fifty yard line
Just the coach and me after we lost eighteen to nine
And I cried man next time to get in here I’ll have to buy a ticket
Can’t you give me five more minutes
Time rolls by the clock don’t stop
I wish I had a few more drops
Of the good stuff, the good times
Oh but they just keep on flying
Right on by like it ain’t nothing
Wish I had me a pause button
Moments like those Lord knows I’d hit it
And give myself five more minutes
At eighty-six my grandpa said there’s angels in the room
All the family gathered ’round knew the time was coming soon
With so much left to say I prayed Lord I ain’t finished
Just give us five more minutes
Time rolls by the clock don’t stop
I wish I had a few more drops
Of the good stuff, the good times
Oh but they just keep on flying
Right on by like it ain’t nothing
Wish I had me a pause button
Moments like those Lord knows I’d hit it
Yeah sometimes this old life will leave you wishing
That you had five more minutes
Five more minutes

I heard this song for the first time today while on the air at work.  Sometimes song just jump out and their lyrics hit you right in the heart.  That’s what this song did to me today.  It made me thing of so many different moments where I still wish I could have had just five more minutes.  I’m not talking about those moments where you want just five more minutes of sleep, or your weekend to last just a little bit longer.

I wish I had just five more minutes to say goodbye to the coworker that passed away back in February.

I wish I had enough time to get to St. Louis and then just five more minutes to tell my grandmother goodbye before she passed away in 2003.

Just five more minutes of my son being my little baby, because he is growing up way too fast.  Blink and he’ll be a man.

Five more minutes of family vacations with my husband and son and not having a care in the world.

Five more minutes of my very first love . . . so magical and new.

Five more minutes to talk myself out of sleeping with some of the guys in my past.

Five more minutes of naivete before anger, bitterness, rage, and experience took its place.

Five more minutes of blind-faith optimism before jaded pessimism found a home.

Five more minutes of all the things that bring my heart joy, that break my heart and make me appreciate what I have in life, that fill me up and make me complete.

Five more minutes of music, dancing, poetry, writing, laughing, crying, hugs, kisses, and cuddles.

Five more minutes of passionate arguments, of worshiping with my brothers and sisters in Christ, of wandering this great big country from the rolling black top of the open highway.

Five more minutes of feeling a warm breeze in my hair, taking in the scent after a Spring rain, making a path in newly fallen snow, playing in a pile of colorful Fall leaves.

Five more minutes of cold winter days with a mug of hot chocolate.

Five more minutes of playing with my first best friend and the only care I had in the whole world was making sure I got home on time.

Five more minutes of joy, pain, happiness, sadness, and all the little moments I take for granted everyday.

Five more minutes of . . .

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

